Update: Konen defeats five-term Sugar Grove Village President Michels

Konen received nearly 60% of the vote

SUGAR GROVE – Challenger Jennifer Konen defeated five-term village president Sean Michels in a stunning win Tuesday with nearly 60% of the vote, according to unofficial totals.

Konen, a two-year village trustee, received 902 votes to Michels’ 596, a difference of 306 votes, unofficial results show.

Konen received 59.89% and Michels received 39.58% of the vote, results show.

“I’m excited to get to work with a new board and very knowledgable staff,” Konen said Wednesday morning.

“There is a lot to do. It is a small town and everyone seems to know each other, and they’re very passionate about how this town develops. It’s going to take patience meetings and a lot of community involvement,” Konen said. “Our job is to be led by the people, responsibly. They live here, too. That’s my plan.”

Konen said she wants to keep the village’s Facebook page open to improve communicating with residents.

“It’s just a different approach to working with the residents,” Konen said. “I’m excited for what I think the people are excited for.”

Michels was appointed village president in 1999 and won the next five elections, records show. Michels did not return a voicemail message seeking comment.