Dixon Council incumbent, former member land seats

DIXON – City Council incumbent Dennis Considine and former Councilman Chris Bishop came out ahead in Tuesday’s election.

Four candidates competed for two 4-year terms on the Dixon City Council. Considine had 704 votes (30.6%) and Bishop had 571 votes (24.82%) against incumbent Ryan Marshall’s 386 votes (16.78%) and Ben Nagy’s 469 votes (20.38%).

Candidate Seth Wiggins previously withdrew from the race, but his name was still on the ballot, and he received 171 votes (7.43%).

Considine, who’s retired after decades of working in local retail and beauty supply, was elected in 2017 and also served one term as commissioner under the city’s previous form of government.

Bishop, a teacher at Reagan Middle School and the head wrestling coach at Dixon High School, was elected to a 2-year term on the council in 2015. He decided not to run for re-election in 2017, but joined the Dixon Plan Commission in 2019.

Marshall owns The Stables bar in downtown Dixon, and was elected to the council in 2017.

Nagy is a financial service representative at Country Financial in Dixon, and served a partial term on the Dixon Park Board from April 2015 to July 2016.

Rachel Rodgers

Rachel Rodgers joined Sauk Valley Media in 2016 covering local government in Dixon and Lee County.