Early voting begins in Grundy County

Early Voting for the June 28 Primary Election is underway.

GRUNDY – Early voting for the June 28 Primary Election is underway.

Voters will be casting primary ballots to determine which Republican and Democratic candidates will advance to the Nov. 8 General Election.

Candidates for federal, state and local races will be on the ballots for the June 28 primary election.

At the federal level, Grundy County voters will be picking which Republican U.S. Senate candidate will take on U.S. Sen. Tammy Duckworth this fall.

Voters also will be picking between four Republican candidates seeking to represent Illinois’ 16th Congressional District. Republicans Michael Rebresh of Minooka, JoAnne Guillemette of Rockford, Walt Peters of Rockford and U.S. Rep. Darin LaHood of Peoria, who currently represents Illinois’ 18th Congressional District, are running for the seat. There is no Democratic candidate in the race.

Voters also will weigh in on multiple statewide races, including who will be the nominees this fall for Illinois governor, secretary of state and treasurer.

All seats in the General Assembly also are up for election.

Countywide offices also are on the ballot, including regional superintendent of schools. Incumbent Chris Mehochko will face off with Kristen Koppers.

The entire Grundy County Board is on the ballot, although none of the races feature contested primary races.

Voters in Gardner, Minooka and the Braceville Fire Protection Unit will be asked to approve weigh in on ballot referendums, including establishing a “quiet zone” to silence train horns and approving a 5% increase in the corporate fire line item on the annual tax levy.

Stickers await people who cast their ballots on the first day of early voting Thursday, May 19, 2022, at the polling place in the DeKalb County Legislative Center in Sycamore. Any registered voter in DeKalb County may choose to vote early, in person or through the mail, ahead of the June 28 primary election.

Early voting takes place at the County Clerk’s Office, located in the Grundy County Courthouse, 111 E. Washington St., Morris. Cell phones are not allowed in the courthouse.

Early voting hours are Monday through Friday, now until June 27 from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The Clerk’s Office also will be open for additional early voting hours:

Saturday, May 28 – 8 a.m. to 12 p.m.

Tuesday, June 7 – 4:30 to 6 p.m.

Thursday, June 9 – 4:30 to 6 p.m.

Tuesday, June 14 – 4:30 to 6 p.m.

Thursday, June 16 – 4:30 to 6 p.m.

Saturday, June 18 – 8 a.m. to 12 p.m.

Sunday, June 19 – 8 a.m. to 12 p.m.

Tuesday, June 21 – 4:30 to 6 p.m.

Thursday, June 23 – 4:30 to 6p.m.

Saturday, June 25 – 8:00 a.m. to 12 p.m.

Voters are not required to present an ID to vote early. Voters’ identities are verified upon registration as well as by using a signature match, as on Election Day. Please note that once a voter casts an early ballot, the vote cast is final and may not be revoked. Election law prohibits a person who voted during the early voting period from voting at the polls on Election Day. Votes cast during the early voting period are not counted until after the polls close on Election Day.

May 19 also was the first day the Clerk’s Office could mail official ballots to those registered voters who have applied for a vote by mail ballot. Voters who wish to cast a ballot by mail in the upcoming election should contact the County Clerk’s Office at 815-941-3222, ext. 1, to obtain the necessary application, or they may find the application under ‘Election information’, on the Grundy County website at grundycountyil.gov. The last day to mail a ballot is Thursday, June 23.

Voters with questions or wanting more information should contact the Grundy County Clerk at 815-941-3222, ext. 1, or by email at elections@grundycountyil.gov.