New Geneva task force appointed to strengthen relationships with diversity communities

Burghart: ‘It’s going to be hard work and I know these are not easy issues’

GENEVA – Geneva Mayor Kevin Burns appointed nine people to the new Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Task Force at the June 7 City Council meeting.

The members of the new task force as appointed and approved by the City Council are Gregory Albert, Krystle Ann Forst, Kendra Bickhem, Ashley Nuzzo-Ericksen, Luis Amaya, Denise Theobald, Jeanine McMillen, Silva Gramlich and Christine Kelly.

The task force will work to develop a strategy to help the city better engage and strengthen relationships with diverse communities, officials said when the task force was first formed.

Burns said all the members were interviewed and vetted by the Strategic Plan Advisory Committee.

“These are the members that they have chosen to carry out the responsibilities and the role of that task force,” Burns said. “I encourage you to not only consider these distinguished citizens but to, of course, support their appointment.”

First Ward Alderman Tara Burghart thanked those who wanted to serve on this new task force.

“I know we had a great response of those who wanted to be on the committee. So those who are not moving forward with this work, I hope will find other ways to stay involved with the city,” Burghart said.

“For those who are going to be on the task force, it’s going to be hard work, and I know these are not easy issues. And so I’m grateful for them stepping forward and I know all of us will support the task force however we can.”

Through the development of the city’s 2025 Strategic Plan and in subsequent goal-setting meetings, city officials affirmed its commitment to ensuring Geneva is open, inclusive, and welcoming to all individuals.

The City Council approved the creation of the task force in March to help advance this vision and amplify the voice of diverse communities within Geneva.

Also on Monday, Burns appointed 3rd Ward Alderman Dean Kilburg to the TriCity Ambulance Board and Tim Moran to the Planning and Zoning Commission.