DeKalb P.E. teacher named Midwest Elementary P.E. Teacher of the Year

DeKALB - Kelly Zerby, a P.E. teacher at Jefferson Elementary School in DeKalb, was recently named 2022 Midwest Elementary P.E. Teacher of the Year.

Zerby was named the 2021 Illinois Elementary P.E. Teacher of the Year for the Illinois Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation & Dance. According to IAHPERD’s website, the Teacher of the Year award is given “in recognition of outstanding instructional performance for elementary, middle and secondary school physical education as well as in adapted, dance, health, and adventure education.”

During the DeKalb School District Board of Education meeting Tuesday evening, Zerby was recognized for receiving the regional title in December.

The other four Elementary P.E. District Teachers of the Year are Ryan Armstrong of Parkade Elementary School in Columbia, Missouri; Rebecca Lambdin-Abraham of Maplewood Elementary School in Austin, Texas; David Kellett of Maryland City Elementary School in Laurel, Maryland; and Trent Suzuki of Central Elementary School in Escondido, California.

The title of National Elementary P.E. Teacher of the Year will be decided in April at a national convention in New Orleans, Louisiana.