Here are DeKalb County’s unofficial election results for the 2024 primary

Joe Shippy, from DeKalb, votes in the primary election Tuesday, March 19, 2024, in the polling place at Westminster Presbyterian Church in DeKalb.

Voters in DeKalb County cast their ballots Tuesday for county, state and federal congressional races, and in some cases, answered referendum questions.

Below is a list of the contested races and results. Races that are uncontested are not included here.

Mail-in ballots have two weeks to arrive as long as they are postmarked by Election Day. Provisional ballots also can be addressed and counted in the weeks to come. Election results are not finalized until two weeks after Election Day.

Those victorious in Tuesday’s primary will go on to the Nov. 5 General Election.

Review our election day coverage:

Voter turnout

Voter turnout low for primary election in DeKalb County: Read story here.

DeKalb County Board

Two Republicans have likely triumphed over their opponents in two GOP primaries for Districts 1 and 12 of the DeKalb County Board. Early unofficial results showed Republican Tim Hughes taking the lead over opponent Lawrence West for District 1; and incumbent Jerry Osland in the lead over Phyllis Brown for District 12. Read story here.

State Rep. 76th House District, GOP and Democrat primaries

A late-night upset could turn the tide for the certain Democrats seeking to be the next state representative for the 76th House District. Amy “Murri” Briel took the lead against fellow Democrats Cohen Barnes and Carolyn “Morris” Zasada late Tuesday night due in part to a boost from La Salle County voters. And Republican Liz Bishop secured a substantial lead over opponent Crystal Loughran and appears to be the likely candidate leading into November: Read story here.

14th Congressional District

James Marter is the projected winner over Charlie Kim in the Republican primary for Illinois’ 14th Congressional District seat, The Associated Press declared Tuesday night. The winner will face Democratic U.S. Rep. Lauren Underwood of Naperville in the Nov. 5 general election: Read story here.

11th Congressional District

U.S. Rep. Bill Foster got an early lead over challenger Qasim Rashid in the Democratic primary for Illinois’ 11th Congressional District seat Tuesday night and never looked back. Meanwhile, music-school owner Jerry Evans of Warrenville won the three-way race for the Republican nomination. Read story here.

37th Illinois Senate

Shortly after 10 p.m. Tuesday, the Associated Press declared Li Arellano Jr., of Dixon, to be the unofficial winner of the GOP primary for the 37th District Senate seat. Read story here.

Have a Question about this article?