JJC accepting nominations for its annual JD Ross Extraordinary Service Award

Nominations are due to the Joliet college by Nov. 5

If you know someone who serves the community in an extraordinary way, Joliet Junior College wants to know about it.

JJC is currently seeking nominations for its annual J.D. Ross Extraordinary Service Award, the highest award the college bestows, according to a news release from JJC.

The community service must have been performed in Illinois Community College District 525 and in the areas of humanitarian service, distinguished public service, scholarly service and/or creative attainment, the release said.

Illinois Community College District 525 includes “large portions of Will and Grundy counties, as well as southern Kendall County, northern Livingston County, southeastern La Salle County, southeastern DuPage County, and northwestern Kankakee County,” the release said.

The JJC board of trustees established the award in 2004 in honor of President Emeritus J.D. Ross, the release said.

Past recipients include: Dave Holmes and Lynne Lichtenauer (2018), Jeff Eberhard and Terry Kunze (2017), Glen Marcum (2016), Gary Cheney and Deborah Reposh-Smith (2015), Joseph B. Schmitz (2014), H. James Baum (2013), Carrie Worthington (2012), Anthony Ray and Dr. Albert Ray (2011), Jim Riggs (2010), R. Dale Evans, Sr. and Mohra Gavankar (2009), Virginia Ferry and Vincent L. Foster Sr. (2008), Terry D’Arcy (2007), Cecil W. Ingmire and Louise Ray (2006), Jean A. Hansen (2005), Brother James Gaffney and James M. Roolf (2004).

Nominations must be received by Nov. 5.

For submission guidelines and to submit online, visit jjc.edu.

Mail or hand-deliver nominations to Joliet Junior College, communications and external relations office, Room A-3115; 1215 Houbolt Road, Joliet, IL, 60431.

For more information, contact Carly Ringo at 815-280-2659 or email communications@jjc.edu.