Here’s who’s filed in McHenry County for the 2024 election – updated

McHenry County Chairman Michael Buehler, left, and John Collins, who is running for County Board, file their candidate forms on Monday, Nov, 27, 2023, at the McHenry County Clerk's Office in Woodstock. Monday was the first day for candidates to file ahead of the March primaries.

Candidate filing for those who want to run in the March 19 Illinois primary – and, if they win there, the November general election – ended Monday evening.

There were some last-minute filings at the state legislative and U.S. Congressional levels, but few for the McHenry County positions, with only two contested primary races at most for county board seats.

U.S. Reps. Jan Schakowsky (9th District) and Bill Foster (11th District) both faces primary challengers at the congressional level on the Democratic side. Foster’s district also includes a three-way race on the Republican side.

Following is a list of candidate who filed before the deadline to submit paperwork ended Monday.

Countywide offices

Circuit Court Clerk:

  • Katherine M. Keefe, Republican (incumbent).



State’s attorney

McHenry County Board


District 1

District 2

  • John (Jack) K. Collins, Democrat.
  • John Reinert, Republican (incumbent).

District 3

  • Eric Hendricks, Republican (incumbent)
  • Robert “Bob” Novak, Republican.

District 4

District 5

  • Deena Krieger, Republican.

District 6

District 7

District 8

District 9

Here are the candidates who filed with the Illinois State Board of Elections as of 1:30 p.m. Friday:

McHenry County’s 22nd Circuit Court

Cowlin vacancy

  • Jennifer L. Johnson, Republican.

Wilbrandt vacancy

  • Suzanne C. Mangiamele, Republican.

Illinois House of Representatives

House District 52

House District 63

House District 64

House District 66:

  • Suzanne Ness, Democrat (incumbent).
  • Laurie Parman, Republican.

House District 69

  • Peter Janko, Democrat.
  • Joe Sosnowski, Republican (incumbent).

House District 70


9th Congressional District

10th Congressional District

11th Congressional District

  • Bill Foster, Democrat (incumbent).
  • Qasim Rashid, Democrat.
  • Jerry Evans, Republican.
  • Susan Hathaway-Altman, Republican.
  • O. Kent Mercado, Republican

16th Congressional District

Have a Question about this article?