Batavia teacher Susan Jones named Kane County Educator of the Year

45th annual ceremony was live streamed

GENEVA – Susan Jones, a special education teacher from Batavia School District 101, was named Kane County Educator of the Year Friday in an ceremony that honored eight local educators, officials announced in a news release.

The 45th annual Educator of the Year award ceremony was live streamed through YouTube and Facebook because of the coronavirus pandemic.

Jones has spent 33 years in education, and currently serves at Alice Gustafson Elementary School in Batavia. She is the recipient of a $3,000 grant from the regional office to be used for a project of her choosing at her school, the release stated.

The Kane County Regional Office of Education hosted the ceremony and honored nominees from the 2019-2020 school year, after last year’s ceremony was postponed due to COVID-19.

Each year student teachers, retired teachers, university representatives, business representatives, and national board certified teachers come together and review all nominations.

Each category also had an individual winner as well:

• Maggie Schroeder, a Project Access Coordinator with Elgin U-46 for Educational Service Personnel

• Megan Gow, a guidance counselor with St. Charles District 303 for Student Support Personnel

• Scott Parola, math teacher at Central District 301 for Early Career Educator

• Jessica Mina a fourth grade teacher and assistant principal at St. Charles of Borromeo for Private/Parochial

• Jeni Moe, a music education teacher at West Aurora District 129 for Elementary/Early Childhood

• Shawnna Strausberger, a middle school history teacher in East Aurora District 131 for Middle School

• Jordan Zimberoff, a high school U.S. history and AP U.S. history teacher in Geneva District 304 for High School

• Jill Maras, a high school principal in Kaneland District 302 for School Administrator

Shelley Nacke, Assistant Superintendent of Education Services for District 300 received the Regional Superintendent Award, an honor that goes to an educator who touched the heart and mind of Regional Superintendent Patricia Dal Santo.

“There is one nominee this year who touched me as someone I would appreciate being a part of my own children and grandchildren’s lives,” said Dal Santo, while announcing the winner.

Photos of the event will be uploaded in the coming days to the Kane County Regional Office of Education’s website.