New free COVID-19 testing site opens in DeKalb

Here’s where you can receive a COVID-19 test in DeKalb County

DeKALB – The DeKalb County Health Department announced that a new COVID-19 testing site is now available in DeKalb.

The testing site, located at 1602 Sycamore Road in DeKalb, is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturdays from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. and Sundays from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. The testing site is open to everyone and testing is free. Rapid antigen and polymerase chain reaction (PCR) tests, using a nasal swab, are provided.

For more information on the new site, visit

To see the complete list of COVID-19 testing sites in and around DeKalb County, visit

Additional testing sites in DeKalb County include:

-CVS at 1022 W. Lincoln Highway, from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday and 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Sundays. Go to for more information.

-Northwestern Medicine Kishwaukee Hospital*, 1 Kish Hospital Drive in DeKalb, from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. daily

*Testing at the hospital requires an order from a Northwestern Medicine physician, which can be obtained by calling the COVID-19 hotline at 312-47COVID. Non-English languages also offered.

-Physicians Immediate Care* of DeKalb, Sycamore at 2496 DeKalb Ave. in Sycamore. 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday and 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday and Sunday

*Testing requirement includes a curbside examination to determine if testing is appropriate, capacity may be limited. Call 312-767-0400 for more information. Language offered in English and Spanish.

-Greater Elgin Family Care Center for Family Health at 165 Plank Road in Sycamore, from 8 a.m. to noon Monday through Friday. Appointments are required, call 847-608-1344 for more information. Languages Offered: Spanish, Hindu, Urdu, Gujarati, Polish, Ukrainian, Russian on site. Additionally have phone translating system offering over 50+ languages.

Katrina J.E. Milton

Award-winning reporter and photographer for Shaw Media publications, including The Daily Chronicle and The MidWeek newspapers in DeKalb County, Illinois, since 2012.