July 13, 2024
Features | Herald-News


Dr. Wickii Vigneswaran named medical director of Edward-Elmhurst Thoracic Surgery

NAPERVILLE – Dr. Wickii Vigneswaran has been appointed system medical director of thoracic surgery for Edward-Elmhurst Health.

Vigneswaran will treat patients at Edward Hospital in Naperville and Elmhurst Hospital. He is accepting patient referrals and has offices in the Edward Heart Hospital, 4th floor, 801 S. Washington St., Naperville, (630) 416-8500 and on the campus of Elmhurst Hospital, West Medical Office Building, 133 Brush Hill Road, Suite 200, (630) 782-1500.

Vigneswaran, a pioneer in the field of thoracic surgery who performs a majority of his procedures using robotic- or video-assisted thoracic surgery techniques, was previously Chief of Thoracic Surgery at Loyola University Health System.

He brings expertise in complex thoracic surgery, including treatment of benign and malignant chest tumors, lung and esophageal cancers, mediastinal tumors, hyperhidrosis, chest wall tumors and deformities, and other conditions. Dr. Vigneswaran will concentrate on minimally invasive surgery, particularly robotic procedures, at Edward Hospital.

Vigneswaran received his medical degree from the University of Sri Lanka. He completed his internship at Kingston General Hospital and Darlington Memorial Hospital in the United Kingdom (UK) and completed his surgical residency in the UK.

Vigneswaran completed several cardiothoracic fellowships in the UK and Canada, and in the U.S. at the University of Colorado-Denver and Mayo Clinic/Mayo Graduate School of Medicine.

Vigneswaran has authored more than 100 articles and book chapters, and edited three books about lung transplantation and thoracic surgery.

He is the recipient of many honors and awards, and a member of 20 professional societies, including the American College of Surgeons; Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburg, Scotland; Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons in Canada; American College of Chest Physicians; Royal Society of Medicine; International College of Surgeons; American Medical Association and Society of Thoracic Surgeons.