Bureau County Republican

No contested races after first days of filing for upcoming Bureau County elections

Candidates will have until 5 p.m. Monday, March 14 to file their petitions

Bureau County Clerk Matt Eggers reviews results of the Nov. 3 General Election.

Filing opened Monday for those looking to run for election for the open Bureau County positions, as eight seat hopefuls have already turned in their paperwork, according to the County Clerk’s office.

Currently there are no filed contested races as of Tuesday afternoon, as the positions of county clerk, treasurer, sheriff, 18 county board positions and precinct committeemen for the Republican and Democratic parties are up for election.

The county previously elected 26 members to its county board, but decided in the fall of 2021 to decrease this number to 18 starting with the 2022 election.

Incumbents, County Clerk Matthew Eggers and Treasurer Joseph Birkey, have both filed for reelection to their respective positions.

Incumbents included District 8 Board Member Republican Kristi Warren, District 19 Board Member Ronald ‘Tom’ Dobrich, District 23 Board Member John Baracani and District 26 Board Member Connie Stetson have all filed for reelection.

Dave Argubright has also filed for election in the county’s 12th district, while Kerwin Paris has filed for election in the county’s 14th district.

Dobrich, Richard C. Wells and Rick Wilkin have all filed for the positions of precinct committeemen.

One precinct committeeman position is available per precinct for both the Republican and Democratic party. Not all spots are taken by either party.

Candidates have until 5 p.m. Monday, March 14, to file their petitions.