Basketball: Rosters announced for Extravaganza at Alden-Hebron on April 14

Girls game tips off at 2 p.m. Boys game follows at 5 p.m.

Crystal Lake Central's Katie Hamill drives to the basket against Burlington Central's Emersyn Fry during the IHSA Class 3A Woodstock Regional Championship girls basketball game on Thursday, Feb. 15, 2024, at Woodstock High School.

Crystal Lake Central career scoring leader Katie Hamill, a two-time Northwest Herald Girls Basketball Player of the Year recipient, will play for the Home team at the McHenry County Area All-Star Basketball Extravaganza on Sunday, April 14, at Alden-Hebron’s Tigard Gymnasium.

Also on Hamill’s team, which will be coached by A-H’s Marty Hammond, will be Marian Central’s Madison Kenyon and Lucy Iden, along with A-H career scoring leader Jessica Webber.

Leading the Away team will be three players from Hampshire, the Fox Valley Conference runner-up, Avery Cartee, Ashley Herzing and Whitney Thompson, along with two from Kishwaukee River Conference champion Marengo (Bella Frohling and Keatyn Velasquez). Johnsburg coach Erin Stochl, who played in the game after her standout career at Richmond-Burton, will coach the Away team.

The girls game will tip off at 2 p.m., followed by the boys game at 5 p.m. It is the 20th year A-H has hosted the event. There are 3-point contests for both games and a dunk contest for the boys. There also is a King/Queen of the Hill contest for the boys and girls 3-point winners.

Woodstock coach Ryan Starnes will be joined by three of his players – Spencer Cullum, Keaton Perkins and Trent Butler – for the Home team in the boys game. Hampshire’s Mike Featherly will coach the Away team, which will have Marian Central’s Christian Bentancur and two players from Crystal Lake South – Christian Rohde and Colton Hess – which was 31-3 and won a Class 3A sectional championship.

For the girls Home team, Hamill and Kenyon were Northwest Herald All-Area players who led their teams to regional titles, Central in Class 3A, Marian in Class 2A.

Hamill, who will play at NCAA Division II Missouri-St. Louis, scored 22.5 points a game and finished her career with 1,813 points. Kenyon averaged 14.3 points and 10.8 rebounds per game, posting double-doubles in 24 of the Hurricanes’ games.

Herzing and Prairie Ridge’s Addie Meyer, also playing for the Away team, were also All-Area first-teamers. Meyer averaged a double-double for the Wolves (14.3 ppg., 10.4 rpg.) and Herzing averaged 13 points a game and led the area with 88 3s.

Marian Central’s Christian Bentancur (right) celebrates his 2,000 point with fans during a nononference boys basketball game against Marengo on Tuesday, Feb.13, 2024, at Marian Central High School.

Bentancur became the third area boys player to ever score 2,000 career points. He was an All-Area first-team selection, finishing his career with 2,047 points and averaging 20.8 points and 12.4 rebounds a game. He was the 2023 Northwest Herald Football Player of the Year and will play tight end at Clemson next year.

A-H’s Nolan Vanderstappen (11.7 ppg., 10.3 rpg.) was the other area boys player to average a double-double and will be on the Away team. Cary-Grove’s Jake Hornok is one of the other top players for the Away team.

The Home team will have McHenry’s Marko Visnjevac and Hayden Stone, who helped the Warriors to their school record at 26-9 and their first Class 4A regional title since 2012.

Visnjevac and Cullum were both 1,000-point career scorers and were All-Area first-team selections.

Here are the girls team rosters:


Coach: Marty Hammond, Alden-Hebron

1Evelyn HeberAlden-HebronG-F
4Jessica WebberAlden-HebronG
23Hannah ReiterAlden-HebronG
42Emily LarryCary-GroveF
12Madison KenyonMarian CentralF
13Lucy IdenMarian CentralF-C
3Cassidy SerpeHuntleyG
14Yasmine MorsyHuntleyF
4Caylin StevensWoodstock NorthG
10Addison RishlingWoodstock NorthG
21Bella BortaWoodstock NorthG
33Addy SaundersWoodstock NorthG
50Ashley JaneczkoWoodstock NorthC
21Payton TurleyNorth BooneG-F
33Katie HamillCrystal Lake CentralG


Coach: Erin Stochl, Johnsburg

10Wynne OefflingJohnsburgG
12Kaylee Fouke (injured)JohnsburgG
20Kiara WelchJohnsburgF
31Sophie PersonJohnsburgF
25Addie MeyerPrairie RidgeF
3Keatyn VelasquezMarengoG
10Bella FrohlingMarengoF
23Ava BorchardtHarvardC
21Hayley ShaferHarvardG
5Natalie MorrowWoodstockF
10Allie O’BrienWoodstockG-F
23Addy WalkerWoodstockG-F
5Avery CarteeHampshireG
24Whitney ThompsonHampshireG
33Ashley HerzingHampshireG

Here are the boys team rosters:


Coach: Ryan Starnes, Woodstock

25Trent ButlerWoodstockF
30Spencer CullumWoodstockF
32Keaton PerkinsWoodstockG-F
11Coen DacyHarvardF
12Caden KoteckiHarvardC
1Zach RandlDundee-CrownG
2Kali FreemanDundee-CrownG-F
11Max FesslerJacobsG
2Treval HowardJacobsG-F
11Hayden StoneMcHenryF
1Marko VisnjevacMcHenryG
23Ethan BlackmoreHuntleyG
3Lucas CrosbyHuntleyG
2Omare SegarraHuntleyG
10Ben PersonJohnsburgG
5Kyle PattersonJohnsburgG


Coach: Mike Featherly, Hampshire

12Nick LouisHampshireG
23Adrien UgochukwuHampshireF
10Myles LoweBurlington CentralF
12Ben VoleAlden-HebronG
22Nolan VanderstappenAlden-HebronF
3Colton HessCrystal Lake SouthF
11Christian RohdeCrystal Lake SouthC
2Maddox MeyerRichmond-BurtonG
1Deegan CooleyRichmond-BurtonG
3Braedon ToddMarian CentralG
24Christian BentancurMarian CentralF
23Cale McThenia (injured)Marian CentralG
12Jake HornokCary-GroveG
34Tyler WardWoodstock NorthF
10Trevor MarkWoodstock NorthG
21Cade BlaksleyWoodstock NorthF