Baseball and softball: Little Ten All-Conference teams filled with LTC champions

Serena third baseman Paisley Twait awaits the ball as Newark’s Stephanie Snyder gets in safely during one of the teams' regular-season Little Ten Conference showdowns this past season.

The Little Ten Conference has released its spring all-conference teams for softball and baseball.


With the seasons they enjoyed, splitting the LTC regular-season title and playing an 11-inning thriller for the championship of the Class 1A Woodland Sectional, it’s no wonder Newark and Serena dominated the Little Ten All-Conference Team. The Norsemen and Huskers accounted for 10 of the team’s 14 spots.

For Serena, Paisley Twait (3B/C, sr.), RayElle Brennan (C/SS, jr.) and Jenna Setchell (SS/P, jr.) all were unanimous selections, with Maddie Glade (P/1B, jr.) also an All-LTC selection.

The Norsemen had a whopping six players selected, including unanimous choices Kodi Rizzo (P/OF, sr.) and Danica Peshia (C, sr.). Also named all-conference were Newark standouts Ryan Williams (SS, sr.), Stephanie Snyder (OF, sr.), Dottie Wood (P/IF, jr.) and Adelaide Johnson (OF, fr.).

Somonauk-Leland’s Haley McCoy (C, sr.), Indian Creek’s Emily Frazier (3B/SS, sr.), Hiawatha’s Noreliz Delvalle (C, jr.) and Earlville’s Addison Scherer (P/3B, fr.) rounded out the Little Ten All-Conference Team.

Hinckley-Big Rock’s Martin Ledbetter delivers a pitch in April 2024 during their game against Newark at Hinckley-Big Rock High School.


League champion Serena – winning its first LTC title since 2006 – and runner-up Hinckley-Big Rock each accounted for four spots on the 17-man Little Ten All-Conference Team.

Tanner Faivre (P/IF, sr.) and Carson Baker (SS/P, sr.) both were unanimous choices for the Huskers, with Hunter Staton (P/1B, sr.) and Beau Raikes (P/3B, jr.) also earning all-conference accolades.

For HBR, Martin Ledbetter (P/1B, jr.) was a unanimous choice, with McKinley Shelton (OF, sr.), Jacob Orion (2B/C, so.) and Skyler Janeski (SS/P, so.) also named all-conference.

Capturing two spots apiece were Newark (Landon Begovac, OF/C, jr. and Payton Willis, 1B, jr.); Somonauk (Noah Brandt, Ut., jr. and Aldo Resendez (P. jr.); Earlville-Leland (Trenton Fruit, OF, sr. and Aaden Browder, P. fr.); and Indian Creek (Jeffrey Probst, OF, sr. and Jakob McNally, OF, sr.). Hiawatha’s Aiden Cooper (3B, so.) rounded out the All-Little Ten Team.

Have a Question about this article?