February 01, 2023


DeBolt and Gengler lead pack for Kendall County Board District 1 seat in GOP primary

Kendall County Board member Brian DeBolt of Plano, right, files his candidate nominating petitions to run for reelection to his District 1 seat. Processing DeBolt's paperwork is Director of Elections Natalie Hisaw. (Mark Foster -- mfoster@shawmedia.com

Incumbent Kendall County Board members Brian DeBolt of Plano and Scott Gengler of Yorkville were well ahead of the pack in the Republican primary for District 1.

Yorkville businessman Tommy Okapal finished sixth, according to unofficial vote totals from the June 28 primary, and apparently will not be among five Republicans running for a District 1 seat in the Nov. 8 general election.

With all of the district’s 40 precincts counted, DeBolt received the most votes with 4,113, followed by less than a percentage point by Gengler, with 3,979 ballots.

Appointed board member Ruben Rodriguez is on his way to winning election to the board in his own right, gathering 3,069 votes.

Also garnering enough votes for a nomination was Yorkville Alderman Jason Peterson with 3,062 ballots and Millbrook Trustee Seth Wormley with 2567.

Wormley edged out Okapal, who received 2,158 votes.

Meanwhile, Malanda Griffin of Yorkville ran unopposed for the Democratic nomination in District 1, receiving 2,555 votes.

In addition, Todd Milliron of Yorkville was on the ballot under the banner of the Kendall County Party, receiving 14 votes.

The five Republicans will face-off against Griffin and Milliron for five available seats on the board from District 1.

Two District 1 incumbents decided not to seek reelection. They are Democrat Amy Cesich and Republican Judy Gilmour, both of Yorkville.

Kendall County is divided into two districts, with five board members elected from each.

District 1 covers the western side of the county, including most of Yorkville and portions of Montgomery and Sandwich, along with Plano, Bristol, Millbrook, Plattville, Newark and Lisbon.

Mark Foster

Mark Foster is a reporter for Kendall County Now, covering local government in Kendall County