Kendall-Grundy Community Action Board announces scholarship recipients

Jane Swinney, chairman, of Kendall-Grundy Community Action Board, a division of the Kendall County Health Department, has announced that annual scholarships have been awarded to nine area students through the Community Service Block Grant program.

The scholarships are made possible with funding from Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity. The recipients were chosen on a competitive basis, upon scholarship potential, commitment to civic affairs and career goals. The scholarships awards ranged from $500 to $1,000.

The scholarship recipients are:

Ashley Anjeles of Kendall County – De Paul University for Computer Science Studies

Raquel Brady of Kendall County – Illinois Institute of Technology for Mechanical Engineering

Sue Diaz of Kendall County – National Louis University for Psychology

Rachel Folino of Kendall County – Elgin Community College for Nursing

Alonte Lyles of Kendall County – Joliet Junior College for Business and Psychology

Arriana Lyles of Kendall County – Columbia College for American Sign Language English Interpretation

Briana Lyles of Kendall County – Aurora University for Nursing

Chistopher Papai of Grundy County – Joliet Junior College for Medical Coding

Afreen Mushtaheed of Kendall County – University of St. Francis for Biology