La Salle County Republican Party reelects Larry Smith as chairman

GOP also sets Executive Board

Larry Smith, La Salle County GOP chairman

Larry Smith was reelected as the La Salle County Republican Party chairman for a third term.

Under Smith’s guidance, the party has continued to champion conservative values and advance Republican principles throughout the county, according to a news release issued Saturday.

Smith thanked members and supporters of the party.

“I am honored and humbled to continue serving as chairman of the La Salle County Republican Party,” Smith said in the release. “Together, we have achieved remarkable victories, and I am confident that we will continue to lead our county to greater success in the future.”

The upcoming Nov. 5 general election will see the La Salle County Republican Party focus on electing Liz Bishop in the 76th Illinois House District. She and Democratic opponent Amy “Murri Briel will vie to succeed state Rep. Lance Yednock, D-Ottawa, in the statehouse.

The party also will focus on electing James Marter to the 14th Congressional District. He is contesting incumbent U.S. Rep. Lauren Underwood, D-Naperville.

Additionally, the party will focus on supporting Republicans for county offices.

The La Salle County Republican Party announced its new Executive Board, comprising individuals who will work tirelessly to advance the party’s mission, according to the release.

Joining Smith are Larry Langston as vice chairman, Beth Findley Smith as second vice chairwoman, Todd Volker as secretary, Jim Bailey as treasurer, Charlie Durdan as parliamentarian and Dennis Corbin as sergeant at arms.

Have a Question about this article?