Dixon council welcomes familiar faces, says goodbye to another

DIXON - The Dixon City Council swore-in a couple of familiar faces and acknowledged the work of an outgoing member Monday.

Chris Bishop and Dennis Considine received the oath of office for two 4-year terms on the council after garnering the top votes in the April 6 consolidated election with 572 votes (24.75%) and 708 votes (30.64%), respectively.

Councilman Ryan Marshall, elected in 2017, was unable to hold onto his seat with 388 votes (16.79%), and newcomer Ben Nagy lost with 471 votes (20.38%). Challenger Seth Wiggins withdrew from the race but not in time to have his name removed from the ballot and received 172 votes (7.44%).

Bishop a teacher at Reagan Middle School and the head wrestling coach at Dixon High School, was elected to a 2-year term on the council in 2015 when the city switched to the city manager form of government. He decided not to run for reelection in 2017, but joined the Dixon Plan Commission in 2019.

Bishop said he looks forward to working with council and city staff again, and he’ll do his best to serve the community.

“I appreciate the opportunity to be here and work for you,” he said.

Considine, who’s retired after decades of working in local retail and beauty supply, was elected in 2017 and also served one term as commissioner under the city’s previous form of government.

Considine, other council members and city staff thanked Marshall for his service.

Marshall owns The Stables bar in downtown Dixon, and was elected to the council in 2017.

He’s glad the city will continue to stream meetings on Facebook, a measure he pushed for months wanting to make meetings more accessible to the public. At the last council meeting, he said he was proud to be leaving the council in better shape than when he started.

“I’m so proud of the work we’ve done here and what you’ll continue to accomplish,” he said. “It’s been the biggest privilege to do this work.”

Rachel Rodgers

Rachel Rodgers joined Sauk Valley Media in 2016 covering local government in Dixon and Lee County.