Amboy High School January Student of the Month: Brooklyn Whelchel

Brooklyn Whelchel, 17, of Amboy, is the Amboy High School January Student of the Month. Her parents are Chad and Laurie Whelchel. Her siblings are Logan, 19; Landon, 15; Alyvia, 13; Jadyn, 13; and Sydney, 10.

Favorite class: American History, because I am always excited to learn about the history of the United States of America and how we became the country we are today.

Least-favorite class: English, because I am not a fan of reading unless it is something I am interested in learning about.

Favorite teacher: Cynthia Carlson (aka Dinger), because I know that when I walk into her classroom I will always learn something new.

School activities in which you participate: I have participated in volleyball (4 years), track (4 years), cross country (1 year), dance (1 year), chorus (2 years), and spring musical (8 years). I am also a member of Student Council, Spanish Honor Society, and Leo’s Club.

Civic, church, or other volunteer activities in which you participate: My community involvement includes being a member of St. Patrick’s Church in Amboy, where I have been an altar server for 8 years. I am also a 6-year member of the Maytown Comets 4-H Club, where I have served as vice president. I also help coach club volleyball at the junior high level, and have participated in blood drives. I am a volunteer at Amboy Teen Turf tutoring younger students 2 days a week. I also volunteered at CGH Medical Center before the COVID-19 pandemic started.

What will you do after high school? I plan to attend Sauk Valley Community College for 2 years and then transfer to a university to obtain a bachelor’s degree in biochemistry. I then want to go to medical school to become a radiologist.

What is something you learned in high school you think you’ll never use? I don’t think I will use anything I learned about Shakespeare.

If you could change one thing about your school, what would it be? I would make it bigger. Don’t get me wrong, I love my small community, but I feel as though if we had a bigger school with more teachers, then we could have more opportunities to choose classes that interest us more.

If you could create any new class at your school, what would it be? A career learning class. Many students don’t know what they are going to do once they graduate college and that is OK, but I think that if we had a career learning class it would give them some sort of idea as to what would interest them after they graduate.

What does it take to be a successful high school student? Hard work and dedication. Even when it gets hard and you struggle because you don’t understand something, then you keep trying until you get it right, you ask the teacher for help, and you always push yourself to be better each and every day.

Do you have a job? I am working part-time at Amboy Food and Liquor store. I like my job because all my co-workers and I are so close. It makes me happy to be able to help my community out. I also am Mason Ely’s partner in his photography business. I really enjoy working with Mason, because I love being able to help him on his journey of starting his own business.

How would you describe your group of friends? Crazy, dysfunctional and adventurous. All my friends are pretty much the same as me, and that is probably why we all get along so well.

Who is your best friend? My best friend is Margaret “Maggie” Lowery. She is my other half; when I need advice, she is the person I go to. No matter how many ups and downs we have, she always has been there for me no matter what, she is the one person I can always count on.

What do you do in your free time? I like to hang out with my friends, watch TikTok and Netflix, listen to music, and I try to work out or go for a run as much as I can.

What kind of music are you listening to? What I am listening to depends on what type of mood I am in, but I tend to listen to 2000s throwbacks.

If you could go anywhere in the world for free, where would it be? Greece, because it seems very pretty and I would love to discover different lifestyles and cultures.

What is your favorite childhood memory? Playing football in the snow with all of my siblings.

What is the best way to cheer you up? Go on a drive and listen to music with my best friends, joke around with me, and get me Starbucks.

What is your life’s philosophy? So far in my life my philosophy is “run fast, play hard.” My dad says this to me before any sporting event or before work. When I hear this, I remember that no matter how hard something may get or how tired I might be at any point in life, if I just keep pushing forward and keep bettering myself, then I will eventually cross the finish line.

Do you have any pets? I have two dogs, Oscar and Muzzy.

Is there anything else you want people to know about you? My dream is to eventually live in Texas.

Your Favorite:

Number: 4

Food: Chicken alfredo

Movie: “Remember the Titans”

TV show: “Grey’s Anatomy”

Pro or college sports team: Texas Longhorns