Crystal Lake banks, health care companies recognized by Crystal Lake Chamber of Commerce

Crystal Lake Chamber of Commerce hosted annual awards dinner where Bob Blazier was presented with the Lifetime Member Award

Several area banks and health care providers were recognized this summer by the Crystal Lake Chamber of Commerce for their roles in caring for local residents and local businesses throughout the COVID-19 pandemic.

At its annual awards dinner on July 22 at The Dole, the chamber presented Advocate Aurora Health, Mercyhealth and Northwestern Medicine with the Healthcare Partner of the Year Awards and Home State Bank, Crystal Lake Bank and Trust. American Community Bank, BMO Harris Bank, Blackhawk Bank, Cornerstone Bank and Trust and Prairie Community Bank with the Banking Partner of the Year Awards, according to a news release.

“Both the Healthcare and Banking industries were thrust into the spotlight in early March of 2020 as not only essential but vital to our continued well-being,” the Chamber said in the release.

Each of the health care systems recognized offered COVID-19 testing, intensive care units and ongoing critical care for COVID-19 cases; held virtual informational town halls; provided online resource centers, telehealth options and mask distribution; and continue to offer vaccine clinics, according to the release.

The banks were recognized for providing “unprecedented service and access to bank resources and staff despite their offices and branches being closed to the public for the much of the pandemic,” the Chamber said in a statement. They made wellness calls to customers, assisted both existing customers and non-customers with loans and provided access to other Small Business Administration programs, provided online resource centers and expanded online banking options.

Other awards issued included the Carl E. Wehde Award, which was given to the Crystal Lake Park District for embodying “the spirit of the award this year for its outstanding efforts improving the quality of life in Crystal Lake over the past 100 years” and the Robert O. Covey Award, which was given to the city of Crystal Lake for its “outstanding efforts in working with local businesses throughout the pandemic.”

Individuals recognized with the Presidential Award of Excellence include Pam Bialas of Crystal Lake Bank and Trust, McHenry County Mental Health Executive Director Scott Block, Tim Erwin with Crystal Lake AAMCO, Michelle Kidd with Community High School District 155, and Heather Maieritsch with the city of Crystal Lake. Bob Blazier was presented with the Lifetime Member Award.