Libraries in La Salle, Bureau, Putnam, Marshall, Livingston counties receive per capita grant

State distributes $18.1 million to 638 public libraries

Secretary of State and State Librarian Jesse White awarded $18.1 million in Illinois Public Library Per Capita and Equalization Aid Grants to 638 public libraries serving almost 12 million patrons, including several libraries in La Salle, Bureau, Putnam, Marshall and Livingston counties.

“Public Act 102-0039 allowed my office to award these grants at $1.475 per capita, an increase from the previous rate of $1.25,” White said in a press release. “I am extremely proud of the outstanding service Illinois’ public libraries provide to all residents. I truly believe libraries are cornerstones of our communities, and I am pleased to provide this increased funding to help them serve the public.”

Per Capita Grant funding is authorized under Illinois library law for public libraries, which allows resources for expenses, such as materials, personnel, equipment, electronic access, telecommunications and technology. Equalization Aid Grants help qualifying public libraries with a low library tax base ensure a minimum level of funding for library services.

Some of the services public libraries provide with grant money include the following:

  • Large print material for aging patrons
  • Books, magazines, newspapers, CDs and DVDs
  • Audiobooks and eBooks
  • Home visit book delivery service
  • New computers, iPads and printers
  • Spanish and dual language materials
  • Expanded access to online resources
  • Adult programming
  • Newsletters, postcards and other promotional materials

Several local libraries in La Salle, Bureau, Putnam, Marshall and Livingston counties received grants:

  • Mason Memorial Library, Buda: $793.55
  • Leepertown Township Library, Bureau: $536.90
  • Selby Township Library, DePue: $3,740.60
  • Earlville Public Library: $4,101.98
  • Flanagan Public Library: $2,410.15
  • Putnam County Library District, Hennepin: $8,858.85
  • Henry Public Library: $3,634.40
  • Lacon Public Library: $2,857.08
  • Ladd Public Library: $2,342.30
  • LaMoille-Clarion Public Library: $2,702.20
  • La Salle Public Library: $14,173.28
  • Lostant Public Library: $1,345.20
  • Marseilles Public Library: $7,513.65
  • Graves-Hume Public Library, Mendota: $10,873.70
  • Filger Public Library, Minonk: $3,065.05
  • Charles B. Phillips Public Library, Newark: $4,643.30
  • Odell Public Library: $3,452.98
  • Oglesby Public Library: $6,034.23
  • Ohio Public Library: $1,393.88
  • Reddick Public Library, Ottawa: $35,845.45
  • Paw Paw Public Library: $1,283.25
  • Peru Public Library: $15,185.83
  • Princeton Public Library: $11,298.50
  • Sandwich Public Library: $12,036
  • Seneca Public Library: $0
  • Robert Rowe Public Library, Sheridan: $6,416.25
  • Somonauk Public Library: $13,845.83
  • Richard A. Mautino Public Library, Spring Valley: $8,198.05
  • Streator Public Library: $20,222.25
  • Tiskilwa Public Library: $2,193.33
  • Toluca Public Library: $2,085.65
  • Utica Public Library: $4,410.25
  • Raymond A. Sapp Memorial Library, Walnut: $2,584.20
  • Bond Public Library, Wenona: $1,557.60
  • Wyanet Public Library: $2,011.90

Derek Barichello

Derek Barichello

Derek is a Streator High and University of Illinois graduate. He worked at the Albany-Herald in Albany, Ga., and for Sauk Valley Media in Sterling, before returning to his hometown paper. He's now news editor for both the NewsTribune and The Times.