Waldvogel bests Woodward for Sheridan village president seat

Wilhelm, Figgins and Naggs hold leads for 3 trustee seats

At the conclusion of Tuesday night’s totals, Sheridan trustee Joseph “Jay” Waldvogel had a commanding lead over Marlene Woodward in the race for Sheridan village president with 112 votes to Woodward’s 62.

Tuesday’s results are unofficial, with 119 mail-in ballots possible to be tallied from La Salle County.

If the results stand, Waldvogel will succeed Shelly Figgins as village president while Figgins appeared to win a trustee seat — she was running for a trustee position.

“We can carry on with what we were already doing and from a village standpoint, keep taking care of business,” Waldvogel said. “I think we’ll work well together.”

Waldvogel said he’s already worked with Jeff Wilhelm and Shelly Figgins, who as of Tuesday held leads for two of the three trustee positions, and he’s looking forward to working with Darin Naggs, who currently holds enough votes to win the third trustee position.

“I think there was a good turnout all around,” Waldvogel said. “There was a lot of things that were brought up, especially here, and people came out and voiced their opinion.”

Waldvogel was first elected as trustee in April 2019 after moving to Sheridan from Joliet in 2013.

A retired dentist, Waldvogel said his plan for the village is to keep it fiscally responsible as it has been throughout the pandemic.

With 116 of 119 precincts counted Tuesday, Wilhelm had 119 votes, Figgins 89, Naggs 84, Peggy Arneson 74 and Michael Mott 36 for the three trustee seats.