Morris Hospital Foundation awards scholarships

Nine area students receive awards

MORRIS – The Morris Hospital Foundation recently awarded nine scholarships to area students who are pursuing education in a health care-related field.

Mackenzie Christensen, Jenna Emmons and Griffin Johnson, all of Coal City, were each awarded a $1,000 Relucio Family Healthcare Scholarship established by retired Morris Hospital surgeon Dr. Ed Relucio and his wife, Marizon. Christensen and Emmons both are completing a Bachelor of Science in nursing at St. Francis University. Johnson will be pursuing a bachelor’s degree in psychology at University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh this fall.

Taylor Breyman, Bryce Claypool and Madelyn Knapp, all of Morris, each received a $1,000 Carol Harrington Endowed Scholarship, an award named in honor of Morris Hospital’s former vice president of patient care services who retired in 2008 after 43 years of service. Breyman will be pursuing a Bachelor of Science in nursing at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, and Claypool will be pursuing a Bachelor of Science in nursing at Concordia University Wisconsin. Knapp is completing a Bachelor of Science degree in nursing at Bradley University.

Additionally, the Morris Hospital Foundation awards three $1,000 scholarships annually to Morris Hospital employees and their dependents who are pursuing an education in health care. This year’s recipients are Blake Breyman of Morris, a physical therapy aide in the Morris Hospital Rehabilitation Services department, who is completing a Bachelor of Science in nursing at Millikin University. Isabelle Horkey of Morris, daughter of Morris Hospital laboratory specimen processor Tina Horkey, will be pursuing a Bachelor of Science in rehabilitative engineering at University of Illinois. Eryn Wheeler of Shorewood, a certified medical assistant at the Channahon Healthcare Center of Morris Hospital, is pursuing her Bachelor of Science in Nursing at Joliet Junior College.

The Morris Hospital Foundation awards the health care scholarships annually. Applications for the 2022 scholarships will be available in February 2022.