Hawthorn District 73 opens kindergarten registration for 2021-22

VERNON HILLS – Registration is open for Hawthorn School District 73 kindergarten students for the 2021-22 school year.

To register, visit www.hawthorn73.org/hawthorn-information/registration/kindergarten/.

Kindergarten students attend the Hawthorn School for Young Learners, the district’s new kindergarten building at 637 N. Aspen Drive in Vernon Hills. Another option is to attend kindergarten at the Hawthorn School of Dual Language, 810 N. Aspen Drive in Vernon Hills. The Hawthorn School of Dual Language is a K-5 school, and provides instruction to students in both Spanish and English.

The Hawthorn School of Dual Language has three goals.

High academic achievement: Students learn the same academic and curricular content as other Hawthorn district students, but have the added benefit of learning a new language.

Bilingualism/biliteracy: Students learn to listen, speak, read and write in Spanish and English in social and academic settings.

Socio-cultural competence: Students in dual language programs are supported to learn the similarities and differences within cultures, but rather than identifying the differences as obstacles to overcome, they are viewed as opportunities to connect.

In order to attend kindergarten in Illinois, a child should be 5 years old on or before Sept. 1 of the kindergarten year and live within the boundaries of the school district. Parents who would like to verify that they live within the boundaries should visit the boundary map on the district’s website at www.hawthorn73.org/district-reorganization-plan/.

To assist with the registration process, the district has produced a short video that is available on the district’s website at www.hawthorn73.org/hawthorn-information/registration/kindergarten/.

Hawthorn School District 73 is a preschool through eighth grade public school district serving about 3,900 students. It serves all or portions of Vernon Hills, Mundelein, Libertyville, Indian Creek and unincorporated areas of Lake County.