Six Oswego School District students named finalists in 2020-21 National Merit Scholarship Competition

A total of six students from Oswego East High School and Oswego High School have been named as finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) Competition: Liam Fitzpatrick (OE), Nicholas D. Alonzo (OH), Autumn J. Bartle (OH), Kayla N. Fichtel (OH), Porter E. Leigh (OH), and Paul R. Ricken (OH). There are approximately 7,600 students named as Finalists in the program.

Finalists must have an outstanding academic record and be endorsed and recommended by their high school principal. Due to the global pandemic and the resulting lack of available test administrations, SAT and ACT scores were not required or considered for finalists standing in the 2020-2021 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Finalists were provided with a Certificate of Merit from the NMSC. Winners of Merit Scholarship awards will be chosen from the finalist group based on their abilities, skills, and accomplishments - without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference.

A variety of information is used to determine Merit Scholarship winners: The finalist’s academic record, information about the school’s curriculum and grading system, PSAT/NMSQT Selection Index score, the high school official’s written recommendation, information about the student’s activities and leadership, and the finalist’s own essay. There are three types of Merit Scholarships awarded to the finalists: National Merit $2,500 Scholarship, Corporate-Sponsored Merit Scholarship; and College-Sponsored Merit Scholarship.

Finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Competition will begin to be notified in March if they have received a Merit Scholarship award.