Cerone reelected to Batavia City Council, Vogelsinger wins seat in 7th Ward

Vogelsinger wins 7th Ward alderman seat

BATAVIA – Sixth Ward Alderman Nick Cerone was reelected to a third term on the Batavia City Council in Tuesday’s election, while newcomer Sarah Vogelsinger won the only other contested race in the city, securing a seat representing the 7th Ward.

Cerone received 318 votes, turning back a challenge from Shaunak Dave, who polled 118.

“I’m grateful for all of the support I received and for my opponent, because that made me walk the ward and talk to people and listen to their concerns,” Cerone said.

In the 7th Ward, Vogelsinger and Robin Barraza were running to replace Alderman Drew McFadden, who did not seek another term on the council.

Vogelsinger polled 85 votes, while Barraza received 63 ballots in an election that was characterized by low turnout. Citywide, turnout was just 6.14%, and was even lower in some wards.

“I love this community and I’m very excited to learn from the other aldermen,” said Vogelsinger, a nine-year resident of the city who works for a public relations firm in Batavia.

Although there were only the two contested races, there will be plenty of new faces on the council when the oaths of office are administered on May 3.

In the 2nd Ward, Limestone Coffee & Tea co-owner Leah Leman will replace Alderman Marty Callahan, who did not seek reelection.

Unopposed, Leman received 110 votes.

In the 3rd Ward, Batavia native George Ajazi will replace Alderman Elliott Meitzler, who did not run again. Ajazi is a 1993 graduate of Batavia High School. He received 86 votes.

First Ward residents saw two names for alderman on the ballot, but not for the same seat.

1st Ward Alderman Jennifer Baerren, appointed to the council a year ago, ran unopposed for a full four-year term. Incumbent Alderman Michael O’Brien did not seek reelection. Baerren received 126 votes.

Attorney Christopher Solfa was alone on the ballot to fill the unexpired two years on the 1st Ward’s other aldermanic seat, now occupied by Baerren. Solfa received 129 votes.

In the 4th and 5th wards, incumbent aldermen Tony Malay and Mark Uher, respectively, were unopposed. Malay received 72 votes, while Uher polled 128.

Batavia Library Board member Kate Garrett ran unopposed to succeed City Clerk Ellen Posledni. Garrett received 1,054 in the citywide balloting for the clerk’s post and is now expected to resign her seat on the library board.

Mayor Jeff Schielke received 1,033 votes as he ran unopposed for an 11th term.

For the Batavia Park Board, incumbent John Tilmon was reelected to a six-year term with 1,144 votes, while Molly Connolly received 1,140 ballots to serve out an unexpired two-year term.

For the Batavia School Board, the number of candidates matched the number of available seats.

Incumbent board member Sue Locke won reelection with 1,034 votes. Appointed board member Craig Meadows won election in his own right with 1,016 votes. Aaron Kilburg received 1,037 votes while Ronald “RJ” Mathis polled 1,006.

School board members Tina Bleakley and Jon Gaspar did not run again.

The story was the same for the Batavia Library Board, with four candidates and four seats to be filled.

Incumbent Jennifer Culotta received 911 votes. Marianne Fasano polled 901. Christy Ford collected 904 ballots. Kathryn Hubbard received 932.

Board members Jo Ann Smith, Diane Blodgett and Michael MacKenzie decided not to run again.

In Batavia Township, there were no contested races.

Supervisor Leigh Tracy won reelection with 1,381 votes. Clerk Penelope Tracy received 1,357 ballots, and Assessor Tammy Kavanaugh polled 1,363. Highway Commissioner Christopher Long received 1,367.

For township trustee, there were four candidates and four available seats.

Walter Donat received 1,202 votes. Tom Sharp polled 1,190. Troy Tousana collected 1,217 ballots. John West received 1,183 votes.