Oswego’s Little White School Museum appoints new manager

The Oswegoland Park District has hired Anne Jordan as Little White School Museum’s new museum manager. Jordan began her duties during this year’s PrairieFest community celebration and worked her first day at the museum on Sept. 7.

She replaces Christina Heidrich, who served as the Little White School Museum manager for the previous 10 years before leaving this past summer to become a 4-H coordinator with the University of Illinois Extension Service.

Jordan, a resident of Downers Grove, earned her Bachelor of Arts degree in anthropology from Ohio State University, with a minor in history. She went on to earn a Master of Arts degree in museum studies from Indiana University, Purdue University at Indianapolis. She graduated with specializations in education and public history.

Her background also includes internships and experience at Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg, Virginia; the Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site, Indianapolis, Indiana; The History Museum in South Bend, Indiana; the McCormick House at Cantigny in Wheaton; and at Naper Settlement in Naperville. Her published works include “Tidying Up Museum Collections” in Active Collections, 2020 winner of the National Council on Public History book award.

The Little White School Museum’s exhibits and extensive archival collections tell the story of the Oswego area from prehistoric times to the present day. The museum, built in 1850 as a Methodist-Episcopal Church, converted to a school in 1915, and was restored from 1977 to 2002. It is a joint project of the Oswegoland Park District and the non-profit Oswegoland Heritage Association.

Regular hours are Thursdays and Fridays from 1 to 5:30 p.m.; Saturdays and Sundays from 8 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.; and Mondays from 4 to 9 p.m. The museum is closed to visitors on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. Admission is free.

For more information, call 630-554-2999, email info@littlewhiteschoolmuseum.org or visit littlewhiteschoolmuseum.org.