College of Lake County elects Board of Trustees officers

GRAYSLAKE – The College of Lake County Board of Trustees named officers for the 2019-20 academic year, recognized outgoing board chairman Richard Anderson and honored outgoing board secretary Barbara Oilschlager at its April 23 meeting.

Dr. William Griffin of Lake Forest will serve as board chairman. Catherine Finger of Grayslake will serve as vice chairman, and Anderson, also a Grayslake resident, will serve as secretary.

The board recognized Anderson for his work as chairman the past two academic years. Under his leadership, the board selected and oriented new President Lori Suddick and supported major capital projects, including restarting the Lakeshore (Waukegan) Campus expansion project with the Illinois Capital Development Board, the Grayslake Campus library and E Building renovations, and the campus’ Psychological Services remodeling for the provision of mental health services for students.

Additionally, under Anderson’s leadership, the board supported student success by affirming its commitment for CLC to join the 2019 cohort of Achieving the Dream, a growing network of American community colleges committed to helping their students, particularly low-income students and students of color, achieve academic, personal and career success. The board also supported CLC’s participation in the Illinois Equity in Attainment Initiative.

The board swore in two trustees who won the April 2 election: Julie Shroka and Timothy Powell, both of Grayslake, who will serve six-year terms. Alexa Waheed of Antioch was seated as the 2019-20 student trustee. She is active in the Honors and Scholars program and plans to attend law school, become an attorney and ultimately a U.S. Supreme Court justice.

The board passed a resolution expressing appreciation for outgoing student trustee Brandon Ferrara. Active in the Honors and Scholars programs, he has served as a student senator and a public relations officer for the CLC chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society.

The board also passed a resolution expressing appreciation for Oilschlager. First elected to the CLC board in 1989, she has served eight times as chairman and vice chairman. Oilschlager has been serving community colleges at the local, state and national levels for nearly 30 years.

The board approved meeting dates for the 2019-20 year, including regular meetings and committee of the whole meetings, usually at 6 p.m. at the Grayslake Campus. For dates and locations, visit