Prep football: Three Rivers North by the numbers


That is the number of combined state titles this power conference has won in its combined history. Newman has the most with four titles.


In the past 10 years, that is the number of state titles won by the conference. Two titles apiece have gone to Newman and Morrison, and Bureau Valley has one.


That was the year when the first member
of the conference won a state title. The
Fulton Steamers outscored their opponents
in the playoffs that year by a combined 103-34, including the 8-0 OT victory against Gillespie in the 2A Championship.


Combined conference record in the state championship game. Erie, Prophetstown and Riverdale have never made it to the championship game. Fulton and Morrison,
on the other hand, are both undefeated in the championship, both posting two wins apiece.


Total number of playoff berths amongst the teams. Newman and Morrison shoulder most of these, each tied at 24 berths each.


Change happens. From now on, the conference will have two divisions: Three Rivers North (Amboy, Bureau Valley, Erie-Prophetstown, Fulton, Morrison, Newman
and Riverdale) and Three Rivers South (Hall, Kewanee, Orion, Princeton,
Rockridge, Sherrard and St. Bede). Each side will crown a conference champion, similar to the Northern Illinois Big-12.


The number of years since the conference was last divided. For 5 years, from 1999-2003, the Big Rivers football conference was split into six-team Illinois and Mississippi divisions.


This is the number of teams with red as one of their primary colors in the Three Rivers North. Newman, Riverdale and Bureau Valley are the odd schools out. This could cause major confusion out on the field.